Learning Cloth Diapers

Standard

With my first, the idea of cloth diapers was ‘cute’, meaning not for me but they looked adorable on your baby!

Now with both being toddlers, we are just getting with the program. Our 2.5 yr old is potty training and while still using diapers, we’re hoping sooner than later this phase is over. However, at daycare he’s in disposables and at home he’s in gerber training pants cloth and the plastic gerber over pants. Now this being said, we got these (basically in brand new condition) from my mother who got them from a garage sale for a dime a piece I believe. I think most were in a grab bag and she might have got them cheaper. But nonetheless, this is why we are using them. Basically new, basically free, and for their purpose they work for us. ‘Cute’ training pants like by Grovia are $18-$20 a pop!!! 1) we don’t want to pay that and 2) the kid doesn’t have fashion issues so what we have we will work with.

We have toyed with the idea of sending cloth to daycare and multiple changes of clothes. We aren’t to that point yet but we might try it. We also thought about a pack of Flip Training Pants. Although we’ve had issues with the Flip stay dry inserts in Weehuggers covers. The Flips seem to bunch up with either child and get the inside of the cover wet too.

We’ve also tried the basic Indian prefolds from cottonbabies in the premium and regular sizes. Both are just too awkward lengths. We got a 3 pack of econobum prefolds which work better in the covers but won’t work in the old fashion snappi method. The Weehuggers are cute, but a little thicker in prints than their solids. I also don’t like the bamboo flaps to ‘hold’ the diaper in place since they get wet.

Our little girl just this week has been only wearing cloth at daycare. This has been going well but I do need a few more diapers. We’ve been sending BUmgenius 4.0 and Fuzzibunz pocket diapers to daycare. I have 3 more BG on their way to my house and so far I’m really liking them even though they seem a little bulkier than the Fuzzibunz. The FB with a thiristes duo insert though is super trim (IMO).

I wish we were doing all this sooner. Paying $35-45 a box per kid per month on diapers is crazy. That’s getting name brand (bc generic ones aren’t worth the price unless it’s Targets) and getting discounts. With baby #1, I had couponed and saved over a year of diapers for pennies on the dollar. So it wasn’t a price issue bc I already did all the leg work to basically get most diapers for a couple dollars a bag of diapers. Now since I don’t have that time anymore, we would order on amazon.

I might pick up a pack at Target of diapers as just in case and going out, but I’m trying hard to go all cloth.

The hardest part is understand cloth diapers. Knowing how to wash (we do cold, hot, then rinse) and knowing what you like. It also takes some money to buy up front. Although I would buy a couple prefolds and cover at first and go from there. Yes, we may all love the look of the Applechecks but seriously who can fork out $25-30 for the diaper and another $10 for the insert?

I think if people were exposed to the prefold and good prefolds, that would be eaisest. I need to try GMDS prefolds before I give in the towel. I love the idea but I need shorter prefolds. Otherwise we may start looking for natural fibers but at that price we could get pocket diapers.

If we all could have diapers like BG Freetime (which I would love to try) it would be soooo easy. I love to talk cloth (as we’ve tried a decent amount but love reading about what we might try.) What diapers do you love? What ones are worth the price?

3 responses »

  1. We had great success with Indian premium prefolds and Bummis covers. I love their super whisper wraps. We had some pockets that we bought second-hand, too, and liked those, but we weren’t paying a fortune for something the kid was only going to poop in!

  2. Congrats on going cloth! It’s amazing to me how easy it is – aside from the initial expense. We did the prefolds and covers when our babies and they worked great (my favorite covers were Imse Vimse) were little but once they got wiggly those didn’t cut it. I purchased some Bumgenius pockets, used, and we haven’t looked back. That was three years ago and I’m diapering a second baby in the same ones today. I think I paid about 10 bucks per BG and couldn’t be happier. Good luck in your search!

  3. I’ve also bought some used cloth diapers (currently awaiting a few in the mail) and I can’t believe at how much you can save by buying used! I’m anxiously awaiting a fuzzibunz brand new medium chocolate diaper that I got for $8. 😀 It’s the little things 🙂

Leave a Reply

